The Arc logo

The Arc Announces New Members to Serve on National Board

Washington, D.C.—A roster of dynamic new members have joined the national board of The Arc. This distinguished group includes activists in the intellectual and development disability (IDD) movement and leaders from a wide range of professions, including business.

The new board includes a vice president of one of the world’s leading investment groups, a former Policy Director for a United States Senator, a corporate attorney, an executive with MetLife and a coach with the Washington Redskins football team.

“It is my privilege to serve as the new President of The Arc,” said Mohan Mehra who has served on The Arc’s Board of Directors since 2004. “This remarkable group shares the quality of being deeply committed to improving the lives of people with IDD and each brings talent, energy, insight and experience. This is an exciting time for The Arc as we assume our position as the largest human service organization in this country serving those with intellectual and developmental disabilities. I look forward to working with board members to move us into the future,” Mehra said.

“The Arc is moving in a clear, new direction as we experience rapid growth including plans to launch a fresh and powerful brand identity this spring. These leaders will help to reinvigorate our organization and propel us even further with their passion and energy. The board brings additional bench strength to The Arc in their communities and nationally; their unique skills will complement and enhance the board’s collective contributions,” said Peter V. Berns, CEO of The Arc.

In a recent survey by Forbes magazine of the 200 largest U.S. charities, The Arc ranks eight (8) in total revenue

National Board Members of The Arc:

  • President: Mohan Mehra served as Secretary of The Arc and has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2004.
  • Vice President: Nancy Webster, who has served on the Board since 2002.
  • Treasurer: Ron Brown has served on the Board since 2006.
  • Secretary for the Board: Michael Mack, who previously served as Vice President and as Treasurer.
  • M.J. Bartelmay, Hermitage, PA. Immediate Past President of The Arc of Pennsylvania. Previously served as Director at Large on The Arc’s national board.
  • Barbara Coppens, Cherry Hill, NJ, Self-Advocate, Advocate Assistant with Disability Rights New Jersey.
  • Hugh M. Evans, CFA, Baltimore, MD. Vice President of T. Rowe Price Group, Inc.
  • Connie Garner, Ph.D., Burke, VA. Policy Director with the law firm of Foley Hoag LLP. Former Policy Director, Special Populations for the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) where she worked closely with the late Sen. Edward M. Kennedy.
  • Gary Horner, Chief Financial Officer, ACHIEVA. Elected by the National Conference of
    Executives (NCE) to serve a two year term as NCE’s second representative.
  • Thomas A. Judd, Minneapolis, Minnesota. Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron P.A.
  • Joe Meadours, Sacramento, CA. Self-Advocate and Executive Director of People First of
    California. Elected to a second term on the Board.
  • Pat Napoliello, San Francisco. Founder of the California Alliance for Inclusive Communities and former President of The Arc of San Francisco. Elected to a second term on the Board.
  • Kurt Rutzen, Minneapolis, MN. Self-Advocate. Program Specialist for the University of
    Minnesota Institute on Community Integration’s Research and Training Center on Community Living.
  • Lou Spanos, Pittsburgh, PA. Linebackers coach for the Washington Redskins. Previously spent 16 seasons as a defensive assistant with the Pittsburgh Steelers.
  • Directors-At-Large
    • Doug Church, Oak Hill, VA. Vice Chairman, Virginia Heritage Bank.
    • Kelly Piacenti, Chester, NJ. Director of the MetLife Center for Special Needs Planning.
    • Stacy Taylor, San Diego, CA. Partner in the international law firm DLA Piper.

The Arc is especially grateful to Lynne A. Cleveland who served as the President of the national board since October, 2008 and has served on the Board of Directors of The Arc since 2000.

The Arc also thanks our outgoing Board members: Kim Brown, Shirley Dove, Bill Dusold, Chester Finn, Janet Albert-Herman, Cindy Johnson, Mary V. Jordan, and Deb Seman, NCE Representative to the Board.